5 Things I’m Going to Teach my Kid About Gender, Sex, and Life So They Don’t Have to Learn the Hard Way

The hard way sometimes being the traumatic way

Harmony S
5 min readMay 4, 2022
Photo by Humphrey Muleba on Unsplash

I’m not pregnant. Yet.

I like to think I skirted nicely around making that mistake in my life. Not dissing on any mothers out there who had their kid young. Such an accident warrants consequences, and I’ve known many women who have matured nicely as a result. I got to continue to be a kid throughout my twenties, which came with its own consequences that I matured from as well.

Speaking of continuing to be a child, all that came to a screeching halt recently. Finally, at age twenty-nine, I got married to a wonderful man. Life has mellowed out, and I no longer feel the urge to sprint whenever the going gets tough. My desire to just dip has been a constant feature of my life. Feeling like a stranger anywhere has made everywhere a home, but I hit an age in which passing through each place as a traveler no longer has its benefits. Being in a constant state of transit feels a little like living in constant fight, freeze or flight mode.

I’ve cultivated a nest now, and have some time to reflect on the choices I’ve made. Moreover, learning how to relate to one person on a definite basis has made me realize how unstable some…

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.