About Harmony Shaheen: The 20s Decade Part 9

Everything is fine and dandy but like where is my life going for reals?

Harmony S
5 min readJul 14, 2022
Photo by Albert Vincent Wu on Unsplash

I decided that the hostel life wasn’t for me and I needed something a little bit…classier to say in the least.

Mr. Fuckhead joined me this time, and promised to pay half, (which he never did). We got an Airbnb room also in Central Los Angeles, I think on 99th street in Avalon Gardens. I did a little bit of research about this neighborhood, and apparently during the 1990s this place was considered to be something of a war zone because of gang activity.

I think Los Angeles must have really changed. Like, really really changed. I never once felt unsafe there. I don’t recall a single episode of hearing police sirens or ambulances or gunshots or anything.

But if you want a little backstory on this area, check this video out below.

Yes, I recognize some places in this video, haha. But most of the places are on the east side in the lower streets — I was around 99th to 101st streets for the most…

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.