Apocalyptic Periods are the Devil and Why Being a Woman Sucks Sometimes

When your husband buys a truckload of chocolate in order to save his own ass…

Harmony S
4 min readJun 3, 2022
Photo by lilartsy on Unsplash

It’s 6:30 am and I’m sitting on the balcony. I’ve just polished off a coffee. The sun continues to slowly rise and my face becomes more golden by the minute, though I’m not at all bothered by the brightness in my eyes. The sun’s warmth bathes me. I hear chirping birds all around as the neighborhood stirs awake.

I don’t remember feeling this calm in a great long while. It’s actually quite strange. Just a couple days ago I couldn’t sleep and my thoughts were like a changing radio station and I wasn’t in control of the dial. I barked at my own husband (though I quickly apologized for my juvenile conduct) and felt like the world was crashing all around me.

But now that adrenaline flush has dwindled down and my mind is like calm morning water.

I often wonder about the hormonal and neurological basis of mood and behavior. I’m perplexed by the relationship between…

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.