Few People That I Grew Up With Got Anywhere In Life

I’m completely disturbed by how I just assumed everyone would figure it all out by the time they became adults

Harmony S
6 min readOct 5, 2022
Photo by nikko macaspac on Unsplash

I think this is the most lost generation that’s ever existed.

To be clear, I’m talking about millennials. I can’t remember the exact age range off the top of my head, but if you were a teenager between 2005–2012 I think you basically qualify.

Let me start by saying I grew up in a good ass neighborhood. I never saw violence, despite living in Southern California in Los Angeles county. I grew up in Burbank. I went to John Muir Middle School and Burbank High School. Both perform well academically, (or at least they did when I was a student).

I knew lots of driven, mild-mannered people. There were some wannabe thugs but they never really did anything. I only recall seeing a few pregnant girls at high school. And there were some loose girls (notice I separate this from pregnant), but even the loose girls were smart and opinionated, despite prioritizing boys over academia.

Most of my friends grew up in the suburbs. There’s no real sketch neighborhood in Burbank, and neighboring Toluca Lake and Glendale are only marginally less safe than Burbank. I hope I’ve driven my point home…

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.