Harmony S
2 min readJan 31, 2023

--

First off I really appreciate you mentioning me by name!!! That was thoughtful of you. And yeah I get it about medium. My best ever month was last July, I got like 65 dollars and thought it would only exponentially grow from there. Well I was dead wrong and I'm getting about as much as you are, more or less. Disheartening.
I haven't earned a lot of money since I got married but I'm getting back on Upwork and have gotten some decent projects in my field that I studied at university (GIS) so I'm not too down in the dumps, thank God. But I am getting depressed from not working regularly.
I had a really traumatizing experience in November 2021 and so both my husband and I agreed that I should take some time off to focus on my mental health, so I'm really grateful for the support I have, but I've always been someone who looks forward. I hate nothing more than being stagnant in life.
Living abroad has prevented me from finding a lot of regular job opportunities but maybe I haven't looked hard enough, I don't know. There's definitely a lot more available now after the height of the pandemic. Either way I'd definitely love to start writing again for as long as the money were more guaranteed. The only thing keeping me on Medium is the community. But the financial incentive incentive just not there!!
I love the idea of sharing my personal thoughts on a YouTube channel but that brings a whole truckload of concerns that you can fortunately avoid with writing online. Like, showing my face, family, neighborhood etc.. privacy is definitely a concern. And I'm really not that much of an attention wh*re, please pardon my French. Buuuuut I have been told I have a memorable personality, interesting thoughts, and a curious life story. Who knows.

I'm eight weeks pregnant, so my life is going to soon revolve around a newborn. I've only recently started accepting the reality. I want this baby but it's my first, and I don't exactly come from a particularly glowing-and-intact family on my side (thank God for my inlaws though), and I made some choice decisions during my 20s that I'm still kind of coming to terms with. So I guess looking on the bright side I have a lot more potential content to pull from but getting my head screwed on right is an uphill challenge some days. I definitely find pregnancy is helping me to reinvent myself, though.

If you've made four figures already from Newsbreak then consider yourself blessed. That's very good news to hear from you. I hoped you'd find something. You deserve it 👏.
I'll consider making an account. Newsbreak likely requires a different writing voice than the one I use on Medium but I doubt the learning curve will be too intense.

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.