Has The Political Climate Turned Anyone Else into an Enlightened Centrist?

Or is it just me?

Harmony S
7 min readMay 11, 2022
Photo by History in HD on Unsplash

So, you may have heard that Roe v Wade is probably going to get overturned. And you may also have heard that Elon Musk is going to make Twitter an extreme free speech platform. Maybe some of you are worried about the right wing being triumphant in America’s culture wars.

I can’t say either way how it’ll go. All I can do is offer my two cents about these topics.

I used to be hardcore woke Leftist. Now I’m considering voting Libertarian in 2024. I’m tired of a lot of leftist developments, honestly. However, I am going to be reasonable, and not reactionary, about the upcoming elections. There’s no middle ground anymore. I know people mock centrists, but being centrist doesn’t entail being neutral. It just means you think for yourself on all topics and anyone who generally is involved on either side reasonably would against the tide on certain topics.

I’m suspicious of anyone who desires power. I’m suspicious of any ideology that becomes popular. I’ve also become a lot less inclined to believe change occurs from those at the top. I think our morals as a culture by and large back any significant changes to our society, and far more than any enshrined law ever will.

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.