How I Finally Learned to Love my Body

Being liberated from masked self hatred is really amazing and possible

Harmony S
3 min readOct 3, 2022
Photo by Fuu J on Unsplash

How many moments do you catch yourself admiring your form in the mirror everyday?

Once? Ten times? A few times each hour? Everytime you pass by a mirror?

I used to pull up my shirt and grab my potbelly every time I could get away with it. If that sounds hella awkward, it’s because it is.

I think I now know why I’d get so frustrated by my weight.

I’m no dummy. I pick up on stuff relatively fast, since I am known to be persistent. I don’t give in easily to defeat.

This gives me an advantage academically, but in other areas of my life, trying to apply the same expectations will wind up disappointing me.

Weight loss doesn’t happen overnight. We might all know that since we’ve been told that ad nauseum, but do you really know and accept that fact?

Think about it. Success in weight loss appears as time goes on. Developing healthy habits is key. Not crash diets. Not rolling 48 hour fasts that you don’t seek to regularly incorporate into your lifestyle on a monthly (or even weekly) basis. But for intelligent people who are accustomed to grasping concepts quickly, relative to their peers, this…

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.