I Don’t Care How Old I Am. I Still Love Emo, Post Hardcore and Metalcore

It’s not just a phase, mom!

Harmony S
4 min readMay 17, 2022
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

It’s six am. I hear my wonderful husband snoring. The sun has just peaked, and it’s starting to illuminate the room through the curtains. And I’m lost in a euphoric haze of nostalgia and longing.

I’m currently listening to Name Taken, an emo rock band that was super popular during the late 90s and early 00s. They apparently inspired some pretty popular mall emo bands like Panic at the Disco (who I never really got into after their first album). And last night during my workout, I was listening to A Skylit Drive’s first album after their EP from 2008.

Fuck, anything categorized broadly as rock music from 2002–2008 was really fucking good. After the shit show of rap metal and post-grunge during the mid-90s and early 00s, I think emo, post-hardcore, and metalcore (especially) were really nice segues to the current era of music, largely propped up by streaming services.

I think my appreciation for music from that era is mostly commentary on how society used to be, particularly for young adults. I always wished I was born a little bit earlier, like in 1989 or 1990, at least. I feel I was a little too young to have experienced the thrill of the Vans Warped tour, and sadly with strict parents I never got the…

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.