I Sat on Johnny Depp’s Lap and He Fed Me Cake when I Was 6

Yep, you read that title correctly.

Harmony S
6 min readMay 24, 2022
Source: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/79/Johnny_Depp_Deauville_2019.jpg

I guess you have some questions.

Well where to begin?

I grew up in Southern California. Burbank, to be precise. You know, the place where Nickelodeon, NBC, and Disney are. And that’s not exactly an exhaustive list of all the production companies and conglomerates there.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/fe/Burbank_media_district_from_Griffith_Park_2015-11-07.jpg

Burbank is like fifteen minutes from Universal Studios and the theme park, which was super fun to visit growing up. I still hate that Jurassic Park ride, but I still rode it each time I visited.

Hollywood is about forty minutes to an hour (in LA traffic) from Burbank. What goes on in Hollywood? Tons of acting, for the uninitiated.

I guess in order to pass the time and make some fun memories, mommy took me to acting classes, starting when I was five. I still vaguely remember her asking me about whether that was something I wanted to do. I guess realistically, it’s something she wanted to do when she was a kid but didn’t get the opportunity to fulfill. I don’t blame her for being a little bitter and hoping another chance rolled…

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.