Harmony S
May 10, 2022

--

I think back during the ISIS days, the free speech spheres of Twitter and Tumblr were really interesting trials for how much we as a culture were willing to tolerate. These platforms were used to collect fans, inspire sympathizers, and motivate heinous acts. Don't get me wrong, I almost wish that Twitter and Tumblr didn't eventually delete ISIS-related content, because it was fascinating to observe in real time. However, that lassez-faire approach to free speech was dangerous AF and the thought of domestic terrorists using that realm in the way ISIS did sends shudders down my spine.

Buuuuuut I understand the value of free speech, too. I won't stand in anyone's way. I just want free speech zealots to realize that rationalism is not something all are born with. Manipulation is real via sweet-sounding words.

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.