I’m An Extremely Picky Listener/Moviegoer/Reader

Is it a rotten thing that bad art gives me confidence?

Harmony S
2 min readSep 19, 2022
Photo by Jakayla Toney on Unsplash

This is gonna be toxic as hell but most books, music, and film are straight up TRASH.

The sharper my eye becomes, the more critical I get. Like, the same fucking tropes show up in books and movies. Song structures, chord progressions, and lyrics rarely deviate from the same recycled form. I notice a lot of repetition and redundancy.

My husband introduced the notion that sometimes you just want something braindead and unstimulating. And he’s right that that’s fine. I mean, 21 Jump Street was fucking hilarious. On the same caliber as Scarface? Not exactly. But did it add joy to my life for a few hours? Sure!

Like, okay. I guess art serves different purposes. Not all art needs to be insightful. Nor does art need to be iconic, deep, or some vulnerable expression of the art-creator.

I tend to assume the only valuable art is anything that competes with Picasso. And that’s a super unhealthy approach to anything creative.

But I won’t lie. The stuff that passes for music, film, and literature gives me hella confidence. Not everything needs to be good. In fact I kind of want to start a habit of sharing whatever I make whether it’s good or not just to shed…

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.