I’ve Been Married for Six Months. Here’s What I’ve Learned So Far.

But isn’t marriage supposed to be the end of it all?!

Harmony S
4 min readAug 15, 2022
Photo by Foto Pettine on Unsplash

Had somebody told me a few years ago that I’d one day be happily married, I’d have laughed in their faces.

“Me, married?” I’d respond, choking on my own spit. But marriage meant the loss of so much that I deeply cherished.

How would I be able to leave the house whenever I felt like it for joy rides? Listened to my favorite music in the car? Eaten somewhere without needing someone else to offer their opinion about the food?

My first assumption about marriage was definitely that the loss of independence was inevitable.

I also feared what being forever stuck with the same person entailed. Their habits. Their snoring. Farts, burps, and monogamy. Bleck.

I’ve never really been one to get under a lot of people, which actually is a good thing, kids. Don’t exchange your fluids with random weirdos, that’s just gross. So I never got weirded out by sleeping with the same person day in day out. But what if someone became boring?

Like, what if I knew everything about them? And they became predictable? Ewwww!

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.