Living in Two Vastly Different Cultures Will Challenge What You Believe is Real

Doublespeak becomes second nature as you make futile efforts to foster harmony

Harmony S
6 min readMay 19, 2022
Photo by Yeyo Salas on Unsplash

Trigger warning: Possible sensitivities from people thinking I’m whitesplaining other cultures (I’m not; I’m just sharing anecdotes. Take everything with a grain of salt.)

So, I’ve never really talked a lot about my personal life so far on Medium, but I assume it’s a pretty interesting story.

In short, I won a couple of scholarships to study Arabic in Jordan in 2018 and decided to live there on and off since then, (except for now it’s more like on).

I taught English for awhile at a language center for adults founded by a couple of Americans and winded up marrying a student. Cute right? He’s three years younger than me. I love bringing up that detail.

We had our wedding in February and have been living with his parents since then (which is actually awesome).

While my experience obviously cannot compete with someone who grew up here, having an experience of living for awhile someplace else in stark contrast to your own background (white suburban American chick) does a lot more than simply broaden your culinary palette.

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.