Looking for a new metal band?

Give this album a listen. Just…what a banger!

Harmony S
5 min readMay 28, 2022
Photo by Austin Neill on Unsplash

So, metal is not dead. In fact, metal is very much alive, and with contemporary production standards, has improved far beyond the gritty sound that prevailed well into the 2000s.

I started listening to metal back when I was 13. I think my first door into the world of heavy music was the very much Iron Maiden-inspired album “City of Evil” from Avenged Sevenfold.

Like, no one can deny how timeless this album is, despite my brutal criticisms of it. Other than like, I don’t know, Flyleaf…who was doing a heavier sound on MTV and converted millions of mainstream kids to listen to metal? I get it..Korn and Slipknot were definitely playing on the radio, but those were bands for the weirdo kids that everyone isolated (sadly!).

After Avenged Sevenfold, I was sold. I started listening to Arch Enemy, Opeth, Deicide, and Darkthrone. I was hooked, and I’ve been hooked ever since.

For the record, (no pun intended), I’ve made an intentional effort to try to listen to at least 1 to 4 new albums everyday since the start of the year. Writing on Medium has given me a nice window for doing what I love most, which is getting lost in new music.

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.