My Husband is Amazing, and I’m an Asshole Sometimes

Nanny nanny boo boo, ladies! He’s mine!

Harmony S
9 min readJun 20, 2022
Not a stock photo. He really is that handsome!

If you don’t like gooey cheesy romantic stuff, then do yourself a favor and stop reading now :)

I got married to my wonderful husband Elijah last February. February 13th, to be exact. And while it was a long af road to get there, I think this is perhaps the best decision I’ve ever made.

First off, the people you’re around really make a difference in your life. I find I’m a very emotional person — I tend to suck up the vibe of the people around me and if their presence doesn’t impact how I feel about the world and myself outright, I’ll have to consciously fight toxic emotions, way more than necessary. And for so long, I didn’t even think being around non toxic people was possible.

I used to believe I’d never find a spouse. Too much emotional baggage, I carry. Too much distrust. How many men I’ve blown off (be sure to read that sentence correctly) in fear of getting used. I’ve lived in my own little world too afraid to breathe fresh air.

I’ve messed up a lot of friendships this way, too.

Sometimes All it Takes is a Little Faith, (and a Lot of Patience)

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.