My Opinion of Arizona

Do you like white nationalists and weird ass looking rats that can gore you?

Harmony S
6 min readJun 27, 2022
Photo by Robert Murray on Unsplash

So I’ve talked a little bit about my experiences in Arizona. The TL;DR of my experiences — nope, no fun, bad times.

But setting the outright weird and mindnumbingly boring elements of my experiences in Arizona aside, is Arizona a good state to live in?

Well, the answer to that question depends on a lot of factors.

I’ve lived for long periods of time in three states total now; California, Oregon, and Arizona. My childhood was spent in Southern California, my late teens to mid twenties in Oregon, and fifteen months in semi rural Arizona. And I can confidently say that, despite the fact all these states are technically in West USA, each is very different culturally. It’s actually as though I have lived in different countries, to tell you the truth.

Arizona has traditionally been a red as a tomato state, producing the likes of John Mccain. However, that’s changed, due to the enormous demographics shifts as a product of the California refugee crisis. A mass exodus of Californian natives to Arizona actually made the state go Blue during the last election.

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.