No one is going to hold your hand.

We have this saying that you can lead a donkey to water but you can’t make him drink.

Harmony S
4 min readMay 23, 2022
Photo by Rikonavt on Unsplash

Stop looking for a savior!

For too long in my life I had the toxic approach of seeking out people who would save me.

And you know it’s kind of true. For most people all they need is to be loved and accepted and they’ll be healthy adults with appropriate levels of self esteem.

But yeah I searched for a savior.

And believe me, people tried! But what did I do?

I lacked the perspective to accept their comfort, and decidedly dragged them down with me!

Moreover, loads of people put out their hands and acted like they cared when all they wanted was to control me.

The world is full of SICK people.

I guess some people get to that level of sickness from not having their needs met, while others need no explanation — it’s who they want to be.

Regardless, for a long time in my life I had simply engaged in self sabotaging behavior since I simultaneously needed help but only knew how to accept it from vile people with ulterior motives.

So, what changed?

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.