The Most Hated Man On The Internet

Every father in America should want to rip this guy in half

Harmony S
4 min readJul 28, 2022
Photo by Sebastian Pociecha on Unsplash

So in case you haven’t picked up on it, I used to be an emo scene kid when I was a teenager.

That was a little under half my life ago. Strange to think I am turning thirty in a little over a month. Honestly, the music I listened to back then still goes hard, and the book I’ve been working my way through (“Sellout”) has quenched my appetite for kindling nostalgia.

However, that era of emo and scene culture looks so fucking cringe to me now. Like, big time creepy, too. I don’t know, but there’s something just a little off about grown ass men playing music to and hanging out with literal underage teenagers.

Oh, and they were evidently having lots of sex and just kinda promiscuous all around. This was pre #MeToo as well, so there was very little language for acknowledging how utterly creepy as well as rapey it all totally was. Moreover, this era coincided with the rise of smart phones that can take pictures and videos.

So, what do you do when you live in a culture that’s just gotten an extra means to view and send lewd pictures, and nobody really gives a fuck about victims of sexual harassment or assault still?

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.