When My Fascination With Cults Got a Little Too Intense

Uncovering hidden trauma accidentally is never a nice feeling

Harmony S
7 min readMay 13, 2022
Photo by Edwin Andrade on Unsplash

Earlier this year, I faced unemployment and therefore boredom. I had left my online job in order to heal from some trauma, enjoy married life and ultimately take some time to learn about what I really want out of life professionally. My wonderful angel husband sat me down and we had a long talk about my interests, my anxieties, and what he felt I thrived at.

He told me he believes I thrive most under independent working circumstances. He knows I hate answering to anyone’s authority, (this occasionally includes his). He discouraged me from seeking a regular job, unless I really felt the tug to do something. But basically I must consider finding my own way, leveraging my entrepreneurial spirit, and coming up with my own project (and sticking to it).

I thought long and hard. Fortunately I’m not scant on hobbies. The only issue was coming up with something I could make reasonable profit from.

For as long as I could remember I’ve been fascinated by religion and cults. I never understood how people can so readily see the world in black and white without a clear answer as to why so many countless alternative worldviews exist. Moreover, most religions are completely bereft of even…

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.