Where Do I Start With Sports?

Harmony S
5 min readJun 27, 2022

I’m interested in developing new hobbies but sports intimidate me. A lot.

Photo by Gentrit Sylejmani on Unsplash

I’m fucking sore today.

My husband and I had a nice lazy weekend at a bougie hotel where my brother in law works. It’s in Amman, so we didn’t go super far. The older we get the more we appreciate staycations. He likes going for the giant bathtubs, mostly. But since it’s summer, and the pool there is open, I figured we’d swim a lot, as well.

So I swam and swam and got burnt like a caramelized piece of toast. And I woke up to being in enormous pain, hence why I have been kind of quiet on Medium. Fuck, my skin feels like hell, and my whole body is exhausted since apparently swimming can fuck your body up if you don’t pace yourself, and doing breaststrokes nonstop for a good thirty minutes might not have been the most clever idea ever.

I hate going long periods of time without staying fit. I used to run all the time, but then I guess I started making excuses. It’s either smoking argeela or it’s exercise everyday. Guess which one I picked.

But my husband and I have taken the first steps to quitting our nicotine habits, his being in the form of vaping while my habit is to smoke this fucking thing everyday for an hour or more.

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.