Why I Think The Metaverse Will Fail Spectacularly

Eat s&@t, serfs!

Harmony S
3 min readMay 6, 2022
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

If you haven’t heard of The Metaverse by now, you’re probably living under a rock (a real one, not a virtual one, I presume). The Metaverse is the new dystopian reality envisioned by Mark F..*cough* Zuckerberg. You get to put on your chosen virtual reality headset and plug into a world away from your current woes. Meet up with friends. Attend rock concerts. Visit landmarks.

First off, I thought the Metaverse was going to at least be a bandaid for all our real world problems. Really, wouldn’t that have subdued the public? I could totally have seen this as a smart way to reduce the possibility of any working class uprising. Rather than replicating all our current class problems by giving people more videogame-like controls over their second reality, folks at the top were quick to mimic the capitalist system of the ‘real’ world and project it onto the Metaverse. I mean, even Second Life was more rewarding. Even in the virtual Metaverse world, people will not be able to transcend their real life issues of poverty or unstable housing, with real estate in the Metaverse amounting to several hundreds of thousands of dollars already.

And the graphics!!! Puke!!! I’ve never seen such primitive graphics before in my life. I assume these are going to be the first to improve, but still, whats…

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.