Why I’m Sick of Travel and am HAPPY to Settle Down

Harmony S
7 min readMay 8, 2022

A few reasons why traveling around the world isn’t always what it’s cracked up to be

Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

Travel around the world. Sample different cuisines. Find foreign lovers in seedy hostels. Take Instagram-worthy pictures and be the envy of your friends.

Doesn’t this sound magical?

If you keep up with trends, you’d know the current trend largely set by millennials and older Gen-Zers is to use your laptop to freelance and travel the world while doing so. In fact, the number of digital nomads is growing, with many choosing to travel to places like Indonesia, Thailand and Mexico. Being young often equates to feeling free and unencumbereed by responsibilities that tie you down to a single geographic location, so why not?

Back in 2018, I started my adventure. I had graduated in June of that year, and a month prior to my graduation, I learned that I won both scholarships that I applied to. I had my choice of several countries to study my target language in (Arabic). I chose Jordan. That summer, I decided to spend my time in across Scandinavia (I visited all three countries: Norway, Sweden and Denmark).

While my time in Jordan deserves an entire article series on its own, to summarize, after completing my term studying Arabic at a prestigious center catering to foreign expats, I…

--

--

Harmony S

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.